Firefly Open Source Community

   Login   |   Register   |
New_Topic
12
New Topic

[Linux] Ubuntu Gnome Linux is not working

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/1/2022 22:40:50     
I done everything  from instruction:
https://wiki.t-firefly.com/en/Co ... compile_ubuntu.html
SDK version 0.0.1 (maybe we can get newer version?).
1) When I use Ubuntu core minimal - system is working normal, when I tried to use Ubuntu Gnome then suddenly it turned out that the system is read-only - there was no such problem with the minimal image.
2) Also video is not working over HDMI but there is no information about it in DMESG.
3) Also I have a question about how to expand rootfs partition in flash? There is 7 partitions here and one partition after rootfs that's why I cant expand it with GPARTED for example.
Sum up: there is 3 problems:
1) Read only ubuntu rootfs:
2) Tiny rootfs:
3) Not working HDMI (but it is working with Android).
Reply

Use props Report

276

Credits

7

Prestige

7

Contribution

intermediate

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
276
Posted at 8/2/2022 16:46:13     
try to update SDK, the newest SDK seems to be v1.0.0c, v0.0.1 is too old
read the README-IMPORTANT file in google drive where you download the SDK
Reply

Use props Report

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/2/2022 17:07:02     
It is impossible to download 0.1.0 from this link because google says:
This file cannot be retrieved because the download quota has been reached
Reply

Use props Report

276

Credits

7

Prestige

7

Contribution

intermediate

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
276
Posted at 8/2/2022 17:59:01     
sorry, maybe you got a wrong link
I send you the right SDK link through PM
Please don't leak this link to someone else, SDK is part of after-sales service
Reply

Use props Report

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/2/2022 18:16:48     
Thank you!
Reply

Use props Report

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/3/2022 13:01:34     
The problems with read-only filesystem and small rootfs is not gone.
It is something like this:
1) If there is very small rootfs - there is also lots of errors, some services cannot start and system remain RW, GUI is working but I can barely do something with the system that has 0B free memory;
2) I tried artificially expand rootfs partition size with GPARTED - after this system starting without GUI and also without lots of services because of read-only file system. I can avoid this problem after start with this command:
mount -o remount,rw /
But services that has not started from the boot - I can't start it. Like Wayland and Gnome, for example.
SDK version 1.0.0 and the latest ubuntu from your repo.
Reply

Use props Report

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/3/2022 16:39:32     
I think it may be a problem with boot options in U-BOOT, but I also cant stay in uboot while booting - CTRL+C (like it said) is not working...
Reply

Use props Report

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/3/2022 19:27:10     
I really don't know what to do and why rootfs booting in read-only...
Reply

Use props Report

141

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
141
Posted at 8/4/2022 13:52:54     
There is no such problem with debian 11 - coming out that it is a problem with your ubuntu. But your debian is Chinese language and there are lots of problems with the network here - DNS is not working and I can't see any web sites from there, but ping exact IP is working normally (for example google - 8.8.8.8).
Also we afrid thet GPU is not working too because demo video (1080@60) became a slide show...
Reply

Use props Report

41

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

new registration

Rank: 1

Credits
41
Posted at 8/4/2022 17:34:13     
Hi v.redin!

What contains in bootargs of your build? I have the same problem and fix it by adding "rw", like this:  bootargs = "earlycon=uart8250,mmio32,0xff1a0000 swiotlb=1 console=ttyFIQ0 ro root=PARTLABEL=rootfs rootfstype=ext4 rootwait overlayroot=device:dev=PARTLABEL=userdata,fstype=ext4,mkfs=1 coherent_pool=1m systemd.gpt_auto=0 cgroup_enable=memory swapaccount=1";
Reply

Use props Report

Return to List
12
You need to log in before you can reply Login | Register

This forum Credits Rules

Quick Reply Back to top Back to list