Firefly Open Source Community

123
New Topic

Kernel 3.14 or above for ubuntu 14.04 is required

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 2/1/2016 02:46:50     
Hello,

My device is Firefly-RK3288 running ubuntu  flashed from:
Firefly-RK3288_Ubuntu14.04_201501271612.img

Is there a build for UBUNTU image with a newer kernel than 3.10 ? I am working on an application where it requires to update according to the kernel version.
output of the following command :  

apt-get install -y linux-headers-`uname -r`

Returns the following errors :
E: Unable to locate package linux-headers-3.10.0
E: Couldn't find any package by regex 'linux-headers-3.10.0'

I would really appreciate if someone can help.
Reply

Use props Report

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 3/30/2016 16:51:22     
Last edited by tedd77 In 3/30/2016 17:38 Editor
busybee Posted at 3/30/2016 15:30
In your prevous post, you mention that
"

Hello Busybee,

After letting me struggle for over a month, you finally realized that your image/board does not come with linux headers package. I am now more disappointed.
I do not regret giving you the benefit of the doubt, at least now I know that your board has a major handicap when it comes to linux. therefore I consider the time wasted a contribution from me towards those who are thinking of buying your board.

Today your board is a pure android oriented device so people trying to use it with Linux must understand that there are obstacles that cannot be overcome.

What does it take you to build an image with linux headers packed ? I am very confident that a huge community is looking for a powerful board like yours with  full fledged linux. At this point unfortunately I regret to say that it is not the case of your board.

Finally I do not expect a positive answer and I consider this case closed. I hope my experience will help Linux fans to think twice before making a decision.
Reply

Use props Report

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 3/3/2016 00:56:57     
Hello,

Unfortunately I lost interest into Firefly and moved to NUC from Intel.
It is really sad not to see linux development for the Firefly, while the the focus is on Android only.

Well could not wait longer and I am happy with the NUC, more versatile and flexible.

Good luck Firefly while I see you need more than luck though.
Reply

Use props Report

370

Credits

10

Prestige

12

Contribution

intermediate

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
370
Posted at 3/4/2016 15:35:51     
Sorry @tedd77 .  We'd like to listen to your advice about Linux development for Firefly.

Would you like the mainline kernel running on the board and more recent Linux distribution?
Or something else?
Reply

Use props Report

587

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

advanced

Rank: 4

Credits
587
Posted at 3/4/2016 17:49:19     
busybee Posted at 3/4/2016 15:35
Sorry @tedd77 .  We'd like to listen to your advice about Linux development for Firefly.

Would yo ...

Hello,

I’d like this kind of stuff me too. Also if you have the time to evaluate the RT patches on the RK3288 it would be great for me. I don’t feel confident enough in my linux skills to do that kind of work myself

I also share the feeling of tedd77 about the linux support vs the android one. I can easily understand why this is the case because the commercial applications of the RK3288 have been mainly TV boxes for which the android OS is good. My projects on the contrary are focused on usage where the main concern is the real time behaviour, the CPU efficiency (I need to do  a lot of computation), and my GUI needs are rather limited.

The CPU is the main point for me, that’s why I posted a question on this forum concerning the RK3399 (based on 2 Cortex-A72 cores).

To finish on a positive note, I want to say that I greatly appreciate that you have made available such boards for anyone. Thank you for that.
Reply

Use props Report

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 3/10/2016 02:34:39     
Hello busybee,

I am ready to give it a chance, but to be honest I am not a geek in linux.
If you are ready to guide me through then please let us proceed.
I read about mainline and it was not advisable to use it, I do not care about the version as much as I care about supported Kernels. I searched everywhere on the internet for the Kernel 3.10 that you currently have and it is not available.
I am unable to compile some softwares due to the lack of kernel headers and that is why I had to move to NUC since everything was available.
Your board is not cheaper than NUC by the way however it is smaller and that is why I am ready to give it another try if you are serious about your offer to help.
Please let me know at your earliest.
Finally my other disappointment was the time t-firefly took to consider my post and to react to it.
Reply

Use props Report

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 3/10/2016 18:50:34     
busybee Posted at 3/4/2016 15:35
Sorry @tedd77 .  We'd like to listen to your advice about Linux development for Firefly.

Would yo ...

Hello busybee,

I am waiting for your reply.
Reply

Use props Report

370

Credits

10

Prestige

12

Contribution

intermediate

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
370
Posted at 3/12/2016 11:27:53     
Please read the wiki page here:

http://wiki.t-firefly.com/index. ... 288/Build_kernel/en

Feel free to post any problem you meet here.
Reply

Use props Report

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 3/15/2016 07:35:48     
busybee Posted at 3/12/2016 11:27
Please read the wiki page here:

http://wiki.t-firefly.com/index.php/Firefly-RK3288/Build_kernel/e ...

Hello,

I am having an issue.
Do I have to replace the /path/to/prebuilts with something else ?
If not then the command
make -j8 firefly-rk3288.img is failing with path not found

Please advise
Reply

Use props Report

370

Credits

10

Prestige

12

Contribution

intermediate

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Credits
370
Posted at 3/15/2016 14:11:00     
Yes, you have to replace it with the directory of your compiling toolchain.

Things will be easier if you have our Android SDK, which contains the toolchain.
Reply

Use props Report

175

Credits

0

Prestige

0

Contribution

registered members

Rank: 2

Credits
175
Posted at 3/15/2016 19:47:35     
the link to get it from please ?
Reply

Use props Report

Return to List
123
You need to log in before you can reply Login | Register

This forum Credits Rules

Quick Reply Back to top Back to list