Print Previous Topic Next Topic

how to use GPIO ?

Credits

Prestige

Contribution

new registration

Credits

how to use GPIO ?

Posted at 1/14/2016 19:19:04      View:9213 | Replies:3        Print      Only Author   [Copy Link] 1#
Hello,

I'm new on this forum so I hope I don't ask a question which has been answered yet.

I have a fireflyRK3288 and I want to send a signal with one free GPIO (not the ones used by the system, like leds which I perfectly control now). The problem is I don't have a clue on how to do this. I'm a programmer and don't really understand the electronic documentation given in the wiki.

From what I've understood, I assume that I can use A7 and A6 GPIO on J6 and B5, A3, A7 and B1 on J10. These names are the ones written on the card itself, how can I discover the ones used by the kernel I must use in my program (in C++) and then how do I use them ?

If anyone has an answer, at least on how to start using these GPIO, it would be great.

Thanks.

Use props Report

Credits

Prestige

Contribution

intermediate

Credits
Posted at 1/20/2016 11:15:49        Only Author  2#
Last edited by busybee In 1/20/2016 11:34 Editor

Maybe the link below is useful for you:
https://developer.ridgerun.com/wiki/index.php/Gpio-int-test.c
GPIO sysfs interace document:
kernel/Documentation/gpio.txt

Use props Report

Credits

Prestige

Contribution

new registration

Credits
Posted at 1/21/2016 22:28:31        Only Author  3#
Thanks for your reply busybee. This page seems helpful to create code fore GPIO. I will try a few thing from what I understand and I'll post the results here.

Use props Report

Credits

Prestige

Contribution

new registration

Credits
Posted at 2/8/2016 19:22:36        Only Author  4#
Hello everybody,

I've tried to understand how to use a free GPIO with the firefly and I've finally succeded. It took me quite a long time because it was not my only work and because documentation is very scarce on the subject.